June 24, 2012 (Chicago, IL) ANS annual meeting, International Committee Update – AESJ/IAC

Major activities of the Japan section of ANS

2010JFY (April 2010–March 2011) 2011JFY (April 2011–March 2012) April – June, 2012

The International Affairs Committee (IAC) was founded in 1973 as one of the associations of the Atomic Energy Society of Japan (AESJ). The English appellation of the committee was initially "Foreign Professional Societies Coordinating Committee", the appellation was changed to IAC in 2010 in view of describing more specifically the activities of the committee.

Since its establishment, IAC has maintained close contact with ANS through activities as information exchanges and lecture meetings. IAC has become officially the Japan Section of the American Nuclear Society since 1999.

1. Lecture meeting for the members : [ANS]

April 2010 Dr. Marcus (ANS)

"Recent progress in international cooperation for nuclear power

development"

Tokyo, Japan

IAC organizes at least 4 lecture meetings per year, inviting the nuclear energy specialist as lecturer.

2. Publishing bulletin for the members : [ANS]

35th bulletin for 2009JFY activities was published in July, 2010

36th bulletin for 2010JFY activities was published in September, 2011

37th bulletin for 2010JFY activities scheduled to be published in 2012

3. General meeting of members : [ANS]

September 2010 44th general meeting

March 2011 General meeting cancelled due to the Tohoku - Pacific Ocean

Earthquake effect

September 2011 45th general meeting March 2012 46th general meeting

September 2012 47th general meeting (scheduled to be held)

4. Activities related to ANS

- Official meeting with Dr. Loewen (ANS president) and Dr. Tanaka (AESJ president) and AESJ board members in September 2010
- Official letter submission to ANS from AESJ; appreciation for donation from ASN and report on the use of the donation in September 2010.
- Submission of the report on the Japan section of ANS (IAC) activities (scheduled)
- Transmission of the information on the activities of AESJ after Fukushima "Committee for Investigation of Nuclear Safety" (http://www.aesj.or.jp/en/release/committee_for_investigation_of_nuclear_safety. shtml) (scheduled)

The steering committee members of 2011JFY

Japan section of ANS steering committee members (April 2011-March 2012)

Chair;	TERAI Takayuki	(University of Tokyo)
Vice-chair (chair-elect);	TOYOHARA Masumitsu	(Toshiba)
Secretary of general affairs;	SAWA Kazuhiro	(JAEA)
Secretary of account;	HIROSE Yukinori	(Toshiba)
Committee members;	SUDA Kazunori	(JAEA)
	MOROOKA Shinichi	(Waseda University)
	AZUMA Takashi	(MHI)
	ANDO Masato	(JAPC)
	MOCHIDA Takaaki	(HGNE)
	KIKUCHI Takahiro	(JGC)
	UEMATSU Mari Marianne	(JAEA)

Contact emails:

(tera@n.t.u-tokyo.ac.jp) Prof. TERAI Takayuki (Chair)

Dr. SAWA Kazuhiro (Secretary of general affairs) (sawa.kazuhiro@jaea.go.jp)

Ms. KURODA Shiho (AESJ) (kokusai@aesj.or.jp)